रेलवे सुरक्षा बल                             

1) Brief History :-

CLW/Chittaranjan is a premier production unit in India and playing a leading role in respect of manufacturing and catering locomotives to Indian Railways. The locoworks originally called Loco Building Works was initially established for production of 120 average sized steam locomotives with the capacity to manufacture 50 spare boilers. Production of steam loco commenced on 26th January, 1950. The first President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad dedicated the first steam locomotive to the nation on 1st November, 1950 and on the same day the Loco Building Factory was rechristened and named after the great Patriot, Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das and became Chittaranjan Locomotive Works. Apart from meeting the growing and varied needs of Indian Railways, CLW has been right from inception, adopting modern designs and upgrading technology, gradually enhancing the haulage capacities and speeds of locomotives. It is situated at the Border of West Bengal and Jharkhand and is at about 32 km from Asansol and 237 kms from Kolkata. RPF being a security branch has been remaining as inalienable part of such an important organisation from the very beginning and providing protection to the Railway Property of CLW. Over a period of time this locomotive workshop has graduated to the production of high capacity locos like WAG-9H, WAG-9HH, WAP-5 & WAP-7.

2) Salient features:-

The jurisdiction of RPF/CLW/Chittaranjan extends to the entire workshop and Township area of CLW including Pump House at Sidhabari, (over Maithan Dam), and Dankuni Electric Loco Assembly & Ancillary Unit work shop (ELAAU). RPF bears the responsibility of providing protection to the Railway Property in Workshop as well as in CLW Township. The force discharges its function under the direct command of one SAG level officer i.e. IG cum PCSC/CLW and Sr. Security Commissioner and Assistant Security Commissioner are assisting him in discharging his duty.

CLW has been declared as a “Protected place” under order of Hon’ble Governor of West Bengal since 1971. It falls under category of vital installation of the Govt. of India. Chittaranjan Locomotive Works is spread over an area of 8,98,373 Sq. Meters and total township area is 18.34 sq. Kilometers. The entire area is covered with boundary wall except some parts towards southern side lying on the bank of river Ajay.

There are 04 RPF Posts namely: -
i. RPF Township Post,
ii. RPF Main Shop Post,
iii. RPF Traction Motor Post,
iv. RPF Steel Foundry Post.

They are responsible for providing basic security to their respective allotted jurisdiction within CLW/Chittaranjan and led by one Inspector rank officer each. Apart from above 04 Posts, 01 Unit in the form of Company (RPF A.W. Coy/CLW) is also available and responsible for manning three gates of CLW/CRJ and deployment of Forces in connection with unscheduled duties. One Inspector is posted there as Company Commander to look after the works of the company. In addition, there are two intelligence branches: - 1. Special Intelligence Branch & ,2.Crime Intelligence Branch also functioning here. There is also a Dog Squad, a Store Branch and a Crime Cell (ADW). Units like : - (i) Computer Cell, (ii) Sports and Welfare Cell, iii) Security Control & vi) LTM are also there to carry out different type of departmental works.